Ag committee returns to work this week

The federal standing committee on agriculture will meet Thursday to elect a chair and begin its work.

There will be a new chair since Pat Finnigan, who had served in the role since 2015, did not seek re-election.

Members of the committee include Liberals Kody Blois (Nova Scotia), Francis Drouin, Tim Louis, Leah Taylor Roy, Ryan Turnbull and Rechie Valdez, all from Ontario and Conservatives John Barlow (Alberta), Dave Epp (Ontario), Richard Lehoux (Quebec) and Warren Steinley (Saskatchewan), as well as Alistair MacGregor (B.C.) from the NDP and Yves Perron from the Bloc Quebecois.